Saturday, February 3, 2018
Breaking News
Home » Campground and RV Park News » ARVC presents campground association awards

ARVC presents campground association awards

ARVC presents campground association awards

FORT WORTH, Texas – The National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (arvc) recently acknowledged the accomplishments and successes of the industries’ top park owners and operators, state associations and volunteers.

Honors were awarded during the Awards of Excellence dinner at the annual Outdoor Hospitality Conference and Expo (OHCE) in Fort Worth, Texas.

RV parks and campgrounds that deliver consistent exceptional guest experiences as a result of all-around excellence in operations, professionalism, marketing, customer service, and industry involvement were awarded the Park of the Year awards, with one winner in the small, medium, large and mega park size categories. This year’s winners included:

  • Small Park of the Year: True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile LLC, Jamestown, Tenn.
  • Medium Park of the Year: Shelby/Mansfield KOA Resort, Shelby Ohio
  • Large Park of the Year: Lake George RV Park, Lake George, N.Y.
  • Mega Park of the Year: Bethpage Camp-Resort, Urbanna, Va.

Campgrounds who continue to show leadership, innovation and commitment to running a green park received arvc’s Plan It Green Friendly Park Award. The winners included:

  • Plan-It Green Friendly Park Award – Small/Medium: True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile LLC, Jamestown, Tenn.
  • Plan-It Green Friendly Park Award – Large/Mega: Far Horizons Tucson Village RV Resort, Tucson, Ariz.

Awards were presented to affiliated state associations who produced the best statewide campground directories. Winners designed directories that were visually appealing, well organized, and easy to access and use both physically and digitally. State directory award recipients included:

  • State Directory of the Year (Small) Alabama ARVC
  • State Directory of the Year (Medium) Arizona ARVC
  • State Directory of the Year (Large) Pennsylvania Campground Owners Association

The Supplier of the Year Award was given to Utility Supply Group of Kingston, Wash., who provides utility parts and products for RV resorts, RV parks and manufactured housing. This award is presented to an industry supplier that exemplifies excellence in product solutions, innovation, customer service and support.

This year ARVC created two special award categories. The first award, The State Leadership Award, is to honor an individual in the Outdoor Hospitality industry who has demonstrated a commitment to their professional growth and contributed significant time and talent to their state association and ARVC. This award is to recognize an individual whose efforts have had a direct impact on implementing effective solutions to critical national, state or local issues. This year’s recipient was Judy LaPorta, CPO, OHC of Little Oaks Campground, N.J.

The second special award category that was developed was the Campground Partner Award. This award is presented to an individual in the Outdoor Hospitality industry who has demonstrated a personal commitment to their professional development and their business through the use of arvc programs. This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding industry service, commitment, volunteerism and inspired leadership. This year’s winner was Sherrie Yarber, OHP

Marcia Galvin, CPO, OHC, of Normandy Farms Family Camping Resort and the Massachusetts Association of Campground Owners, received the Stan Martin Memorial Award because of her constant efforts to help private park operators through her volunteerism on various campground industry boards and committees. The Stan Martin Memorial Award is ARVC’s highest honor, recognizing industry leaders whose tireless commitment to the RV park and campground sector of the outdoor hospitality industry is evident in their involvement, leadership, creativity and dedication.

Al Johnson, OHE of the Mt. Rushmore/Hill City KOA in South Dakota received the Pioneer Award, which recognizes early industry leaders and visionaries whose groundbreaking efforts have contributed over the years to the growth and success of the RV and campground sector of the outdoor hospitality industry and have been involved in the industry for at least 25 years.

Saundra Bryn, CPO, OHC of Desert’s Edge RV – The Purple Park in Phoenix, Ariz., Larry Helms, CPO, OHC of Boiling Spring Campground, LLC, Missouri Association of RV Parks & Campgrounds in Dixon, Md., and Michael Hobby, CPO, OHC of Moon Landing RV Park & Marina, Light House RV Park and Marina in Cross Hill, S.C., received the Chairman’s Award, which recognizes those who go beyond the call of duty to further the outdoor hospitality industry.

The ARVC Foundation presented its Above and Beyond Award to Saundra Bryn, CPO, OHC of Desert’s Edge RV – The Purple Park of Phoenix, Ariz., for her countless hours of volunteer work during arvc’s annual conferences in support of ARVC Foundation events and the education program, as well as their significant contribution to the development of curriculum and requirements in support of the Outdoor Hospitality Education Program (OHEP).

SOURCE: ARVC press release

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About Darian Armer

Darian Armer is the assistant editor for RV Daily Report. She lives in Billings, Montana, where she enjoys spending time with her husband and three stepchildren. Introduced to the RV industry in 2012, she is happy to be writing for one of the greatest industries around.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


RV Daily Report welcomes comments from readers. However, we expect that comments will be cordial and professional without reverting to name-calling, profanity and libelous language. Comments of that nature will be removed.